Considered to be one of the oldest government agencies, the Bureau of Quarantine is mandated to protect the health of the people against the introduction or spread of diseases particularly infectious diseases, emerging and re-emerging diseases and public health emergencies of international concern (PHEIC) from foreign countries into the Philippines. To date, BoQ has 18 major stations all over the Philippines. Ten (10) in Luzon namely Manila, San Fernando La Union, Laoag, Subic, Bataan, Clark, Batangas, Lucena, Palawan and Tabaco (Albay) Quarantine Stations; four (4) in the Visayas namely Cebu, Iloilo, Kalibo, and Bacolod Quarantine Stations and five (5) in Mindanao namely Davao, Zamboanga, Cagayan De Oro and General Santos City Quarantine Stations.

As a state party of the WHO’s IHR, BOQ is mandated to implement the agreements contained in therein. One of the core capacity requirements stated in Annex 1 of the IHR is

 “at all times to provide access to an appropriate medical service including diagnostic facilities located so as to allow the prompt assessment and care of ill travelers and adequate staff, equipment and premises”.

Thus, the Government through the Health Facilities Enhancement Program (HFEP) of the DOH appropriated funding for the construction of the Bureau’s selected major Provincial Quarantine Stations. This is also in line with the thrust of the DOH to improve access to quality health care facilities through accelerated upgrading of public health facilities.

For 2016, six (6) major stations were given funding to construct new provincial quarantine stations. These are Batangas, Clark, Cagayan De Oro, Cebu, Davao, and Kalibo Quarantine Stations. An amount of 20 million pesos each were allocated for the phase I construction of Batangas, Davao, and Cagayan De Oro Quarantine Stations while 30 million pesos each were allocated for the phase I construction of Clark, Cebu, and Kalibo Quarantine Stations. The funds were sub-allotted to the respective DOH Regional Offices for implementation. Except for Batangas which received another 20 million pesos allocation from HFEP in 2017, the budgetary requirements to complete all projects will be provided in 2018 through the Health Facilities Enhancement Program of the Department.

The BOQ has been driven to always provide world-class medical services that is appropriate, timely available and accessible to both local and international clients and travelers.

BOQ Davao Groundbreaking Ceremony – January 12, 2018

From L-R: Dr. Brenda Fuentes (Medical Specialist, BOQ), Dr. Shane Ludovice (Chief, BOQ Davao Station), Dr. Ferdinand Salcedo (Director IV, BOQ), Dr. Ferchito Avelino (Director III, BOQ) and Dr. Wilson Lim (QMO III, BOQ Davao)


BOQ Batangas Groundbreaking Ceremony – January 24, 2018

From L-R: Dr. Ferdinand Salcedo (Director IV, BOQ), Dr. Ruby Constantino (Director III, Region IV-A), Architect Maria Rebecca Peñafiel (Director III, DOH Health Facility Development Bureau), Dr. Masikap De Castro (Chief, BOQ Batangas Station), Engr. Ronald Doroteo (DOH Region IV-A), Mr. Efren Diaz (Contractor)


BOQ Cebu Groundbreaking Ceremony – November 29, 2017

From L-R: Engr. Joey Salagantin (DOH), Dr. Alwyn Asuncion (Medical Officer V, BOQ), Ms. Fe Las Piñas (BOQ Cebu), Ms. Mary Jane Malooy (BOQ), Ms. Ada Mesa (BOQ), Dr. Terence Bermejo (Chief, BOQ Cebu Station), Dr. Pia Mancao (OIC Assistant Director, DOH Region 7), Dr. Nelson Elle (Chief, Don Emilio Del Valle Memorial Hospital), Dr. Brenda Fuentes (Medical Specialist, BOQ), Representative from St. Anthony Hospital-Cebu, Mr. Rio Garcia (BOQ), Arch. Harvey Rosco (BOQ)

BOQ Cagayan de Oro Groundbreaking Ceremony – January 11, 2018

From L-R: Dr. Brenda Fuentes (Medical Specialist, BOQ), Dr. Ferchito Avelino (Director III, BOQ), Dr. Ferdinand Salcedo (Director IV, BOQ), Dr. Nimfa Torrizo (Director, DOH Region 11), Dr. Abdullah Dumama Jr. (Assistant Secretary for Health), Dr. Logencito Oran (Chief, BOQ Cagayan de Oro), Dr. Adriano Suba-an (Assistant Director, DOH Region 11), Dr. Jose Chan (Medical Director, NMMC)


BOQ Clark Groundbreaking Ceremony – February 21, 2018

Attended by Dr. Maria Francia Laxamana (Assistant Secretary for Health), Dr. Leonito Gorgolon (Director, DOH Region 3), Dr. Monserat Chichioco (Medical Center Chief, JBLMRH), Engr. Fernando Guanzon (Engr III, DOH Region 3), Dr. Ferdinand Salcedo (Director, BOQ), Dr. Alwyn Asuncion (Medical Officer V, BOQ), Dr. Brenda Fuentes (Medical Specialist, BOQ), Dr. Jeffrey Simpao (Chief, BOQ Clark Station), DOH Region 3 and LGU staff.


BOQ Kalibo Groundbreaking Ceremony – March 13, 2018

from L-R Mr. Efren N. Nagrama (Area Manager CAAP Region VI), Dr. Jeanette Ortega (QMO III, BOQ Kalibo), Dr. Marlyn Convocar (Director, DOH Region VI), Dr. Ma. Lovelle Labindao (QMO III, BOQ Kalibo), Honorable Alberto Bautista (Captain, Barangay Nalook), Dr. Ferdinand Salcedo (Director IV, BOQ) and Dr. Kit Leonard Fuentes (Chief, BOQ Kalibo Station)